Photographs in ID Translations: What to do when the source document has a photograph?
Thread poster: Arturo Raul Miranda de la Colina
Arturo Raul Miranda de la Colina
Mexico
Local time: 09:05
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jun 16, 2021

Hello,

I am a legal translator in Mexico, and a lot of the documents I recieve have the holder's photograh in them. When this happens I add a square where the photograph should be in my translation and type [Holder's phorograph]. However this seems to confuse my clients and they ask if they need to stick a photograph in the translation.

Is there something else I can type when a document has a photograph? What do you do when translating documents with photographs?
... See more
Hello,

I am a legal translator in Mexico, and a lot of the documents I recieve have the holder's photograh in them. When this happens I add a square where the photograph should be in my translation and type [Holder's phorograph]. However this seems to confuse my clients and they ask if they need to stick a photograph in the translation.

Is there something else I can type when a document has a photograph? What do you do when translating documents with photographs?

Thank you

Arturo Miranda
Collapse

Amanda Rocha
Diantha Guessous

Ali Sharifi
Ali Sharifi  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 11:05
English to Persian (Farsi)
+ ...
Copy and paste Jun 16, 2021

My suggestion is to copy the photograph(s) from the original and paste it (them) on the target.
This way, not only your translation seems authentic, it make the client happy too .

Maxi Schwarz
Maxi Schwarz  Identity Verified
Local time: 10:05
German to English
+ ...
[photo] Jun 16, 2021

In the vicinity of where the photo would be, I write "[photo]"

Eman Riesh
Joakim Braun
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
expressisverbis
Kevin Fulton
finnword1
AnnaSCHTR

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 16:05
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
@Ali Jun 17, 2021