No experience translating - provide samples?
论题张贴者: Tiffany Hardy
Tiffany Hardy
Tiffany Hardy  Identity Verified
西班牙
Local time: 13:21
Spanish西班牙语译成English英语
Sep 3, 2005

Hi everyone! I'm new here and new to the translation world altogether. I am North American (U.S.) living in Spain and would like to start translating. I have never done any kind of translation work before - so I am going to start the certificate program at NYU in October. In the meantime, however, I would really like to get as much experience as I can. I have sent CV's to some non-profit/NGO's to volunteer and have not heard anything yet. I would like to approach some agencies here in Spai... See more
Hi everyone! I'm new here and new to the translation world altogether. I am North American (U.S.) living in Spain and would like to start translating. I have never done any kind of translation work before - so I am going to start the certificate program at NYU in October. In the meantime, however, I would really like to get as much experience as I can. I have sent CV's to some non-profit/NGO's to volunteer and have not heard anything yet. I would like to approach some agencies here in Spain to see if they would be give a rookie like me a job or two. So, I thought it would be best if I comprise some samples of translation work done by me - but it would all be made up, nothing that I was hired to do. Has anyone done this? In terms of taking someone else's work (like an article from a social science journal, or some company's marketing materials) and translating it as an example of my work, am I allowed to do this without permission? That is, I would be translating something that no one has asked me to translate just to provide some sort of demonstration of my abilities to these agencies. Let me know what you more experienced translators think of this as a way to get my foot in the door at an agency. Thanks!Collapse

Deborah do Carmo
Deborah do Carmo  Identity Verified
葡萄牙
Local time: 12:21